About BFFFilm SocietyStaffDesignPhotos


Executive Director

Marco Ursino 

Director of Development

Susan E. Mackell


Emilia Ferreira - Feature Narrative Programmer
Emilia FerreiraFeature Narrative ProgrammerEmilia Ferreira is a Brazilian-born-turned-New-Yorker-made-on-Earth filmmaker. Pragmatic about details and romantic about goals, her debut feature film, The Unattainable Story, premiered at the New Directors Competition at the Mostra – São Paulo International Film Festival in October 2016, where it was acquired by Europa Films for Brazilian distribution. The film is currently showing in the United States and international festival circuits. In 2015, Ferreira received the National Association of Professional Women’s VIP Woman of the Year award for outstanding excellence and dedication to her profession and the achievement of women. Besides feature films, Ferreira has directed a variety of purpose-driven content projects. Highlights include work for the Siddhartha School in India, commissioned by Go Campaign and featuring the Dalai Lama; Trip Transformadores, which includes nine Documentary-style short films for one of Brazil’s most influential pop magazines, TRIP; and Grey Advertising’s mission film for the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, a $12.8-billion integrated global nonprofit health enterprise. She was the feature programmer for the narrative section of the 20th Brooklyn Film Festival (2017) and an advocate for women in film as the co-founder of WIFT/Brazil. Ferreira is also passionate about preserving our oceans and is an ambassador for Project Zero, an ocean conservation nonprofit organization.

Brandon Harrison - Feature Documentary Programmer
Brandon HarrisonFeature Documentary ProgrammerBrandon Harrison's search for the great stories in life has taken him around the country and the world. After stints in Atlanta, Miami, and Los Angeles, his story has brought him back to New York. A graduate of the UCLA School of Film and Television, Brandon values the technical intricacies of filmmaking but ultimately finds himself drawn to the underlying truths of life exposed on screen. Follow him @_brandonallen.

Natalie Gee - Short Narrative Programmer
Natalie GeeShort Narrative ProgrammerNatalie Gee - BFF 2020 will be Natalie's 5th year at the Brooklyn Film Festival as the Short Film Programmer. Natalie also curates shorts for the UnLonely Film Festival and recently curated a feminist film night at the Brooklyn Museum and a local NY short series for New Cinema Club. She's been on the Oscar qualifying short film jury for the Bermuda International Film Festival, where she programmed a short's retrospective for BIFF's 20th anniversary. In addition, she's been on the screening committees for Telluride, Hamptons, Montclair & Tribeca Film Festival and her short films have screened around the world.
Mara Bresnahan - Short Documentary Programmer
Mara BresnahanShort Documentary ProgrammerMara Bresnahan is a documentary filmmaker, programmer, and festival director based in Cambridge, MA. She currently serves as the festival director for the Boston ReelAbilities Film Festival and as a lead programmer for the Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival. She has worked in a variety of industry/guest relation capacities at prestigious film festivals including Sundance and most recently acted as artist programs manager for the Camden International Film Festival. She is currently in post-production on the short documentary Variation(s). A fan of all things non-fiction Mara is thrilled to be on the programming team for the Brooklyn Film Festival.

Sarah Bex Rice - Experimental Programmer
Sarah Bex RiceExperimental ProgrammerSarah Bex Rice is a media archivist, writer and video artist that has worked in many different capacities with filmmakers and festivals both local and worldwide, including the Edinburgh Film Festival, Glasgow Film Festival and Indie Street Film Festival. She has screened work at the Imperial War Museum Film Festival and Edinburgh Fringe Festival. Passionate about the preservation of media, Sarah has also worked hands-on within several archives, including the Moving Image Research Collections, Ralph Lauren, Viacom and currently as a Film/Video Librarian for NBC News. She holds an advanced degree in Film, Exhibition and Curation and is interested in the future of both archival and experimental practices in programming.

Julia Cowle - Animation Programmer
Julia CowleAnimation ProgrammerJulia Cowle is an Independent Filmmaker, Illustrator, and Comedy Writer based in New York City. She pursued her undergraduate Film and Television studies at Tisch School of the Arts, New York University and studied at The Rhode Island School of Design. Her Animation work has screened throughout the US and Internationally, and her Illustrations have appeared in various magazines and exhibits. In addition to her animated films, Julia directs live action; her most recent production, 'Winfield Historical Times… And Other Oddities'. Julia interned at Columbia Records in the 'Video Production and Visual Development' department where she designed company-wide concert blasts for Columbia Records artists such as Bruce Springsteen, John Legend, Little Mix, Russ and Leon and for concerts featuring Columbia artists including 'BET Hip Hop Awards' and 'CMT Crossroads.' Additionally Julia has worked in a wide range of curating capacities, as a jury member for the 'Scholastic Art Awards', Internationally as a Jury member for the 'CreActive International Open Film Festival' in Bangladesh and as a screener for 'Nantucket Film Festival'. She has also worked in literary curating as a staff reader for 'Spark: a Creative Anthology' and its two sister publications. Julia has programmed the Brooklyn Film Festival's Animation lineup for the past four festivals.

Submission Coordinator – Michelle Chu


Galen Bremer – Production Manager
Alessandra Cronin – Production Coordinator
Troy Runge – Production Coordinator
Bob Pounding – Editor

Public Relations

Brian Geldin – Public Relations Manager
Lana Gaballa – PR Assistant

Digital Media

Allyson Morgan – Manager


Claudia Murdoch – Marketing and Industry Coordinator
Olivia Ana Robertson
– Marketing Coordinator

Print Traffic

Rachel Mary Cox – Print Traffic Manager
Derek Klevitz – Quality Control Assistant

BFF Exchange

Johanna Schiller – Producer
Matt Rogers – Co-Producer


Julia Cowle – Director


Alessandro Bragaglia – Developer
Mario Pego – Consultant
Don Rainwater – Production
Bruno DerlinComposer


Mai Huynh
Laurie Weltz
Leslie Mccleave
Joe Dinnen
Stacie Capone
Laura D’Augello
Christine Vartoughian
Suzy Davis
Patricia Beaury
Jessica Mendez Siqueiros
Luigi comandatoreny
Shayna Warner
Solomon Peck
Xiomelkiz Morris
Kathryn Reilly
John Gallen
Madelyn Cardarelli
Mackie Mallison
Tamia Bailey
Jelani Wyne
Lana Gaballa
Rose Sorbara
Taylor Edelle Stuart
Peter Pavlakis
Rj Brown
Katarina Docalovich
Daniel Jaffe
Iva Gocheva
Christopher Piccione
Michael Barringer
Swetha Regunathan
Rebecca Halfon
Meryl Williams
Matt Hopkins
Julia McGill
Julia Grinberg
Barbara Vasconez
Alex Vaughan
Brian Landis
John Hollands
Jon Fusco
Savannah Magruder